Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 9th, 2020 19:00

XPS 8940, Better 3rd party cooler

Hello there

I would greatly appreciate any help to find a new/better 3rd party cooler for my XPS 8940. It came with the thin and small stock cooler and is overheating the whole time. I got a i9-10900 processor with 128 GB of RAM and I need this computer to generate some GIS layers. These jobs take 2-4 hrs every time and I can see that the processor is throttling or C° 97+ all the time.

I tried the Noctua 15S but the problem is there is no space for the bracket under the motherboard. The stock fan screws directly into the chassis from above.

Thank you very much

March 8th, 2021 12:00

The NH-C14S is just a 4 pin PWM fan isn't it?

I'm already rocking the D9L - works great on CPU but cool air doesn't make it's way down to the GPU area very well hence why I'm thinking a really large down draft cooler might be interesting.

March 8th, 2021 13:00

Hey, 

I am new to this so still learning. I have been reading every post (in order from oldest to latest) and made it to this part. 

You said the Noctua NF-AF PWM fan (92mm) is a good exhaust fan. I just saw that it is 4 pin fan but others have recommended the Noctua NF-A8 FLX which is an 80mm fan and is 3 pin. 

How do I know which one I need or which one is better? I opened the XPS 8940 case up but didn't take anything out or modify anything yet as I am VERY NEW to all of this. I am literally only doing it for cooling/performance, no other reason than to make my brand new pc last as long as possible.

Many thanks.

March 8th, 2021 13:00

You are awesome for this. Thank you. The pics do help explain the procedure better. 

I am very very new to PC's and want to get all possible information before even beginning to play around inside the PC as I dont want to run risk of damaging any little thing. 

How complicated would you say this is for someone who is beginner of beginners with modifying anything related to pc's?