Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 9th, 2021 07:00

Connecting XPS 15 and Optoma projector for 4k signal

Hi all,

Newbie here, so apologies if this sounds too dumb. I couldn't find this answered elsewhere.

I have an XPS 15 9550, and just bought a 4k enabled Optoma UHD35 projector. The laptop plays 4k videos on YouTube just fine, but the projector only receives a 1080p 60 hz signal when connected to it via HDMI. I use a Dell USB C to HDMI and VGA adapter, which, if I understand correctly, doesn't seem to be capable of sending out a 4k signal at 60 hz.

How do I test 4k on the projector? I thought of checking it at 30 hz, but the display options only show one refresh rate, 60 hz. The laptop also has an NVidia graphics card built in, but I don't know if that can help in any manner. 

I want to connect a Chromecast 4k to the projector and watch Netflix 4k content, but need to make sure everything will work before I order a new Chromecast with Android TV (I have an older HD one) AND upgrade my Netflix subscription.

Thanks!

4 Operator

• 

14K Posts

February 9th, 2021 09:00