Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 10th, 2019 01:00

Dell OS Recovery Tool not working

Small situation sketch.

I have a Dell Precision 5510 I've been using for work for the past 3 years. I am in the process of buying it from my boss since I got a new one (yay!).

Now the situation arises that I want to completely clean install the device since the Windows installation that is on there is an enterprise edition and I do not want the device tied to the company anymore. My go-to idea is/was the Dell OS recovery tool, to fetch the installation that was OEM for the device.

I am hoping it's possible to get windows 10 on there (the license sticker says Win7). What I am experiencing now is that the Dell recovery tool gives me an error that it cannot connect to the backend.

Can anyone help me?

Edit: I know several topics were already opened about this issue, and each time resolved.

3 Apprentice

• 

1.2K Posts

May 10th, 2019 04:00

Hi all, 

That would suggest there is a fault with the website. Have you tried it again since you last posted?

If not, I would leave it for a few hours to allow for a fix and then try again.

If it's really urgent and you need to create recovery media you could try using the Microsoft media creation tool instead.

Alan

1 Message

May 10th, 2019 03:00

I have the same problem......

3 Posts

May 10th, 2019 04:00

Hey Alan,

Thanks for the feedback. I just tried again but no success.

I'll leave it be for a while and hope it comes up again :)

Kind regards,

Jan

3 Apprentice

• 

1.2K Posts

May 13th, 2019 06:00

@j.wilms wrote:

Hey Alan,

Thanks for the feedback. I just tried again but no success.

I'll leave it be for a while and hope it comes up again :)

Kind regards,

Jan

Is it back up and running now?

Alan

3 Posts

May 13th, 2019 06:00

Hey Alan!

thanks for re-checking.

It was up on Saturday and I have a freshly installed device now!

Thanks again for the help!

Jan

3 Apprentice

• 

1.2K Posts