Start a Conversation

Unsolved

O

40 Posts

June 16th, 2022 03:00

How to set the BIOS for a bootable pen drive ?

I have Dell XPS 17 9710, with Win 10 Home.

I want to test a bootable pen drive. I'm not a techie.

The Service Manual says:

---------------------------
The one-time boot menu displays the devices that you can boot from including the diagnostic option. The boot menu options
are:
● Removable Drive (if available)
● STXXXX Drive (if available)
NOTE: XXX denotes the SATA drive number.
● Optical Drive (if available)
● SATA Hard Drive (if available)
● Diagnostic
------------------------

I think the first option on the list would suit me. But I don't see that list when I do the F12 stuff.

I see:

- Windows Boot Manager
- EUFirst Micron.....
- EUFI HTTPs Boot...

Are any of these suitable.?

If not, what do I add?

Thanks

7 Technologist

• 

12K Posts

Did you make the USB flash drive bootable? You cannot just plug in a flash drive and boot from it otherwise. This web page at AOMEI should help and this YouTube video. And this wikihow page has more information about making a bootable flash drive. One question, are you trying to boot into Linux or have you another program such as Macrium Reflect you are trying to boot into? 

10 Elder

• 

23.1K Posts

All you need to do is connect the drive, power up and press F12.  If the system sees the flash drive as bootable, it'll appear in the boot list.  Select it, press Enter and the system will boot.

Be sure your bootable drive is UEFI-compatible, or the system cannot boot from it.

• 

25.1K Posts

Thank you! We have received the details you shared. We will continue the conversation via private messages as the interactions may include user as well as Dell centric information.

June 16th, 2022 04:00

@ejn63 said:

If the system sees the flash drive as bootable, it'll appear in the boot list. 

It appeared in the list in the third position, checked.

@ejn63 said:

Select it.