Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 21st, 2019 10:00

No 'High Performance' power options

XPS 13 9360 / Windows 10 Home

Hi!

I don't have any 'High Performance' power option available on my new laptop. Only 'Balanced' and 'Dell':

Power Options.png

When creating a new custom plan the only things I can adjust are the timers for turning off the display and putting the system to sleep.

Going to Advanced Settings (for any plan) only shows the following:Advanced Settings.png

I'm having unusual CPU load issues with the audio software I use and I'd like to know that it's not because the program (Ableton Live) is not being allowed full use of the CPU.

What I'd like to be able to do is set up a High Performance plan that allows full use of the processors.

Any help with restoring those options would be much appreciated!

I'm new to Windows 10 - and owning a laptop - so safe to assume I know very little.

Thanks in advance.

6 Posts

February 6th, 2019 13:00

I managed to solve the issue, so posting this in case it helps someone else. I had to follow the steps found here - https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000211304-How-to-disable-power-throttling-on-Windows Specifically the steps to edit the 'CsEnabled' value from '1' to '0'. After a restart I finally have access to the High Performance power plan as well as being able to adjust the Processor Power Management settings (and a host of others that were previously unavailable).

2 Intern

• 

20.1K Posts

January 21st, 2019 14:00

It is well hidden-- Power options, Power and sleep, Additional power settings on the right and then Show more plans.

6 Posts

January 21st, 2019 23:00

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately following those steps takes me to exactly the same screen as in the first photo, with the 'Balanced' and 'Dell' plans. There is nothing that says 'Show more plans', or similar.

6 Posts

January 23rd, 2019 08:00