Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 8th, 2019 03:00

Should I charge my XPS 13 9370 all the time?

Hello Dell Community,

This is my first time here with you guys, looks like the good and helpful advices are coming from here so I decided to take a part of this cool community.

So basically, I'm trying to keep my laptop as much as possible. wasn't cheap at all to buy this version (9370).

Since I almost finished to build up my working station in my room, I was wondering what is the best way to keep my battery from draining or any other issues.

Many things that I've read is: adjust settings in dell power manager and the regular method of discharge when a battery is reaching below 20% and not more than 80%.

Please feel free to explain to me all your experience with dell batteries specific in their laptops.

Thanks

Niv

4 Operator

• 

6.2K Posts

July 8th, 2019 04:00

Welcome to the Dell Community  @n1vgabay 

The 80% and 20% is the optimal setting.

Your model is one of the newer ones with a "SMART" battery.

This is why it is very important to use only Dell OEM batteries and AC's.

It uses the SMbus to communicate with the system to maintain battery health.

The one thing is if the "SMART" battery can detect a battery that begins to fail and "SWELL" ???

All lithium-ion polymer "Flat Cell" batteries can "SWELL" 

Best regards,

U2

3 Apprentice

• 

1.2K Posts

July 8th, 2019 06:00

@n1vgabay wrote:

Hello Dell Community,

This is my first time here with you guys, looks like the good and helpful advices are coming from here so I decided to take a part of this cool community.

So basically, I'm trying to keep my laptop as much as possible. wasn't cheap at all to buy this version (9370).

Since I almost finished to build up my working station in my room, I was wondering what is the best way to keep my battery from draining or any other issues.