XPS

1 Copper

XPS 15 9550 Black Screen possible graphics card issue?

Hello all,

This is my first time posting here.  I have had my dell xps 15 for a little over 2 years.  Last week, I was using the laptop fine, the next time I went to boot it up, it was just showing a black screen.  I did some googling and tried powering on while holding Ctrl+Shift+Windows Key+ Alt and then it turned on.  I thought it was a little werid but didn't think anything of it as it was functioning normally during that use.

The next power on it does the same thing, but no solution that I have found online has been any help.    Plugging into an external monitor did work, and I noticed that windows didn't recognize the main laptop monitor as a monitor anymore.  However, performing a boot while holding the D button did perform the proper screen test so the LCD is functional.

Next I uninstalled and reinstalled my GPU drivers with DDU and that didn't fix anything either.  My GTX 960M is listed in device manager and windows says it is functioning properly.

I did take off the back and disconnected the battery and drained the residual capacitor power just to test if that helped.

Next I tried booting into a linux Flash drive which worked!  Immediately Ubuntu chose the laptop screen as its default monitor and everything worked great.  However since I did not perform a full install of Linux I didn't check if it was using solely the integrated graphics or if it was using the graphics card.  (Can the integrated graphics display onto the built in LCD?).