Start a Conversation

Unsolved

M

3 Posts

August 21st, 2018 15:00

XPS 15 9570 will not connect USB for MTP file transfer

I have been fighting with my XPS 15 9570 for a couple months now trying to get it to connect to either a Galaxy S9 or a Galaxy S9+.  Both phones will connect to any other PC I have tried.  I can also easily connect an iPhone to this Dell.  Something about the combination of these phones and this computer are not working together.  I have tried all of the basics up to and including a fresh Windows installation.  I believe the issue may be the USB 3.1 drivers but I can't find anything I can do about it.  I've tried contacting Dell but they told me the problem would require paying for support.  I guess a brand new $2000 laptop doesn't come with good support without paying.  I'm sure the problem is not the phones or the cables.  I've tried using every USB driver I could find on-line and every Samsung driver I could find.  Any other PC connects instantly without additional driver installation.  Does anyone have any ideas what I could do short of waiting for a software patch someday?  I have found a couple others on-line with a similar issue but none of them have resolved the issue.  I believe one person was able to use a USB hub between the PC and phone to get it to connect.   I have gotten the phone to connect once or twice but it is very rare.  Usually Windows explorer is nearly locked up when I connect the phone.  Any ideas anyone?

489 Posts

August 22nd, 2018 01:00

Try different USB cables. I've had MTP connectivity issues with a different phone - it would charge but not MTP connect. Found it was very picky with USB cables. 

3 Posts

August 22nd, 2018 14:00

I've tried several. None work with this PC but work fine with any other PC.  Thanks though.

3 Posts

August 23rd, 2018 15:00