A coupla possibilities on what it could be, neither offer a satisfactory outcome.
If it’s an HDD/SSD password (BIOS/ATA): recovery key will not unlock it with data
If what you see is the HDD password prompt in BIOS (not BitLocker):
There is no “recovery key” that unlocks it while preserving data.
Dell’s “master” or “recovery” password for ATA drives on these older Latitudes/Precisions either:
Doesn’t exist for that drive, or
Triggers a Security Erase, which wipes all data on the drive.
From Dell’s own notes on SATA Security Erase:
“Entering a Dell supplied recovery password will not unlock the drive… If the Security Erase feature is enabled, the drive will be unlocked once it’s been purged of all data.”
So for an ATA/HDD password:
With the correct password: you can unlock and keep data.
Without the password: the only supported options are:
Use a PSID revert (if it’s a self‑encrypting SSD) – this erases all data.
Or replace the drive and treat the old one as unusable for data recovery.
If you need the data on the drive, a data recovery service (such as Gillware or a competitor) CAN unlock the drive without data loss. It cannot be unlocked by Dell or an end user.
This is IF the drive has only a password lock - NOT if the drive is encrypted.
anne_droid
6 Operator
•
2315 Posts
•
8540 Points
2
1
Posted September 15th, 2026 16:47
Hi
HMmmmmmmmmmmm
A coupla possibilities on what it could be, neither offer a satisfactory outcome.
If it’s an HDD/SSD password (BIOS/ATA): recovery key will not unlock it with data
If what you see is the HDD password prompt in BIOS (not BitLocker):
There is no “recovery key” that unlocks it while preserving data.
Dell’s “master” or “recovery” password for ATA drives on these older Latitudes/Precisions either:
Doesn’t exist for that drive, or
Triggers a Security Erase, which wipes all data on the drive.
From Dell’s own notes on SATA Security Erase:
So for an ATA/HDD password:
With the correct password: you can unlock and keep data.
Without the password: the only supported options are:
Use a PSID revert (if it’s a self‑encrypting SSD) – this erases all data.
Or replace the drive and treat the old one as unusable for data recovery.
Kind Regards
anne_droid