egrdavie
1 Nickel

U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

I have a new Dell U3011 monitor that I am trying to connect to my Latitude E6430 with an E-Port Plus II dock. The NVIDIA GPU in my laptop is NVIDIA NVS 5200M. The maximum resolution I can select is 1920x1080, and the display just does not look good. Is there any way I can get the monitor to display properly at 2048x1280 as intended, or even 2560x1600?

Thanks,

Evan

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: Dell U3011 Resolution problem

What video out ports are available on the E-Port Plus II dock? What is the 5 digit Dell part number on the dock?

E-Port Plus II dock port?? --> what cable??--> U3011 port??

0 Kudos
egrdavie
1 Nickel

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

Hi Chris,

The port is Model no. PR02X.  There are four video ports available: 2 DVI's, and 2 DisplayPorts.  I am using a Dual Link DVI cable hooked into one of the port DVI slots and connected by DVI port to the monitor.

Evan

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

PRO2X is the model, not the Dell part number. Look for one of these numbers on the label =

YP126

T0J21

430-3114

469-0174

331-7947

Look at the end of the DVI cable and compare it to this picture. Which one is it?

0 Kudos
egrdavie
1 Nickel

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

Hi Chris,

I did not find any of the numbers you sent.  I did find the following:

DPN: 12TFY A00

DP/N035RXK

and MLK0201702091.  

The label also says Class: BICES-003.

The DVI cable on the left looks like mine.

Evan

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

I cannot pull up any of those numbers. We sold three of these docks. Only one has DVI-D Dual Link (2560x1600) support. The other two are DVI-D Single Link (1920x1080). Look at the specs below. Maybe you can figure out which one you have?

Two DP and Two DVI-D Dual Link (2560x1600)
E-Port Plus Replicator with 130w Power Adapter Cord
Power: 130w
Ports:
Side = Audio, Mic, Three USB
Rear = eSata/USB, Two PS/2, RJ45, Two USB, Serial, Parallel, VGA, Two DP1.2, Two DVI-D Dual Link (2560x1600)
Manufacturer Part: YP126, YP021
Dell Sku: 430-3114
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=bsd&cs=04&sku=430-3114

Two DP and Two DVI-D Single Link (1920x1080)
E-Port Plus Replicator with 130w Power Adapter Cord
Power: 130w
Ports: eSata/USB 2.0, Two PS/2, RJ45, USB 2.0, Serial, Parallel, VGA, Two DP1.2, Two DVI-D Single Link (1920x1080)
Manufacturer Part: YP126, YP021
Dell Sku: 469-0174
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&cs=04&sku=469-0174

Two DP and Two DVI-D Single Link (1920x1080)
E-Port Plus Advanced Port Replicator with USB 3.0
Power: 240w
Ports: eSata/USB 2.0, Serial, Parallel, Two PS/2, RJ45, USB 3.0, VGA, Two DP1.2, Two DVI-D Single Link (1920x1080)
Manufacturer Part: T0J21, M8V41
Dell Sku: 331-7947
http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&cs=19&sku=331-7947




0 Kudos
egrdavie
1 Nickel

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

Hi Chris

I notice the numbers you gave have a .us in the URL. I am in Canada. Do you have access to Canadian sales too? 

Evan

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

The database is for all the Americas. Based on the specifications of all three docks, could you identify yours?

0 Kudos
egrdavie
1 Nickel

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

I got it all downloaded and recorded. I then deleted it because it had your private data in it.

So the dock is correct, the cable is DVI-D Dual Link, the U3011 port is DVI-D Dual Link.

Did you test the cable on the second DVI-D Dual Link port on the U3011?
Is there a different laptop to try on this setup?


0 Kudos
egrdavie
1 Nickel

RE: U3011 + Latitude E6430 on E-Port Plus II dock = 1920x1080

I will try the other DVI-D port.  

However, my biggest problem is that my laptop does not give me the option to use a higher resolution than 1920 x 1200.  

Any idea how to specify a higher resolution?  I can specify a "custom" resolution through the NVIDIA Control Panel, but I'm worried I could damage my computer.

0 Kudos