nyrnd's Posts

nyrnd's Posts

Thank you. You answered my question 100%
I had an ATI Radeon X600 with my XPS 400 Windows Vista 32bit system.  I have had numerous stability issues and ran a program to see the problems over the last year and it was almost always the Video ... See more...
I had an ATI Radeon X600 with my XPS 400 Windows Vista 32bit system.  I have had numerous stability issues and ran a program to see the problems over the last year and it was almost always the Video Card.  I purchased, from Dell, a n EVGA GeForce 9400 PCI express and installed.  My question is: The new EVGA card has a fan on it, the old ATI card just had a heat sink.  So there were no power connections to the old card as a result.  Is there anything special I should have done power wise to the new card?  I did not see any connections at in the tower to use but I am not an expert by any means. 
I bought my Studio XPS in July with Vista 64 bit.  The card reader worke fine.  I upgraded to Windows 7 and now when I put in a card nothing happens.  Devices show an "unknown device".  The USB port ... See more...
I bought my Studio XPS in July with Vista 64 bit.  The card reader worke fine.  I upgraded to Windows 7 and now when I put in a card nothing happens.  Devices show an "unknown device".  The USB port on the right side of the reader works.  The card reader is on the top of the tower.  Tech support installed every driver they could find for it but to no avail.  A technician arrived today and installed a new reader with exactly the same problem.  My slight computer knowledge says I either need to know the exact driver to use, or there is a problem with compatibility with Windows 7 and I need to know when that will be solved.  Our best guess on the manufacturer is Dell, only because the Dell name is stamped into the part and there is a Dell part number and not other markings we can find.  Help would be appreciated.