Reply to Message

Reply to Message

View discussion in a popup

Replying to:
tolga_c
1 Nickel

RE: SAS 6/iR Integrated SAS + SATA (SSD) Negotiated speed PE1950

Hi there,

I was experiencing the same problem as you guys. First of all, I'm a hobby developer and not a multi-million dollar enterprise, so therefore I don't and cannot throw money at problems. If you're a multi-million dollar enterprise, this solution is not for you. Buy certified hardware and use certified software.

While I was already prepared for using SATA II for my Samsung 830 SSDs instead of SATA III (hardware limitation), I was not expecting SATA I. I'm not gonna sacrifice 50% performance, just because SAS 6iR negotiates extremely conservative speeds with non-certified drives (software limitation or unfair marketing strategies - decide for yourself).

I've been using these drives for years in SATA II environments without any problems. Also, I don't expect running them at the same speed in conjunction with the SAS 6iR. To me, it's just a form of unfair marketing strategy, in order to sell own, overpriced SSDs. IANAL and I don't know, whether this is okay in the US. But here in Europe / Germany, you can easily get *** for artificially limiting other vendors products, just to sell yours. There is no technical background for doing so - in my opinion.

Therefore, I've decided to share with you, how I've managed to run my non-Dell SSDs at 3Gbps instead of 1.5Gbps. No need for interposers or other weird stuff. Why would you need interposers for non-Dell SATA drives, if Dell's SATA drives are working fine without? Just software - the same way, Dell has limited your drives to run at lower speeds.

My setup: I'm using a Dell R410 with an integrated SAS 6iR, 4 drive hotplug chassis. Btw.: I cannot buy interposers for hotplug drive caddies seperately and would need to waste big money on them.

Here is a picture of proof: drive.google.com/folderview;usp=sharing