Guide to RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks)

Guide to RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks)

What is RAID?

RAID stands for Redundant Array of Independent Disks. It is a technology that combines multiple hard disks to store data. There are several ways also knows as RAID Levels to store data for performance and redundancy. It is more of a storage virtualization feature where in certain RAID Levels, the Operating Systems accesses multiple hard disks as one.

Types of RAID

With various RAID Levels, multiple physical hard drives are used to divide and/or store data. The standard method of arranging data is also termed as level in RAID.

The most commonly used types of RAID array are:

  • RAID 0 - This level of RAID is also known as Striping. Here the data is stored across multiple hard disks. It enhances the search performance while accessing data however it does not provide fault tolerance. Any instance of hard disk damage will result in data loss.
  • RAID 1 - This level of RAID is also known as Mirroring. Here the data is written identically in two hard disks. Atleast two hard disks are required to constitute a RAID 1 array. It provides maximum fault tolerance as the computer is functional as long as one of the hard disks is operational.

Additional Information

To learn about the RAID type supported by your Dell PC, refer to the User Guide or User Manual of your Dell PC.

To learn more about how to view or download the User Guides & Manuals for your Dell product, refer to the Dell knowledge-base article Manuals and Documentation for your Dell Product.


Introduction to RAID Concepts - (1:27)

Understanding RAID Levels - (3:34)

Understanding RAID Parity - (1:40)

Article ID: SLN179295

Last Date Modified: 04/13/2018 01:12 PM

Rate this article

Easy to understand
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
Send us feedback
Comments cannot contain these special characters: <>()\
Sorry, our feedback system is currently down. Please try again later.

Thank you for your feedback.