How to wipe the Dell Chromebox or Dell Chromebox for Meetings device to restart the enrollment process

How to wipe the Dell Chromebox or Dell Chromebox for Meetings device to restart the enrollment process



This article provides information on how to wipe the Dell Chromebox or Dell Chromebox for Meetings device to restart the enrollment process.


How to wipe the Dell Chromebox or Dell Chromebox for Meetings device to restart the enrollment process

It may become necessary to wipe, or reset, the Dell Chromebox or Chromebox for Meetings device in order to resolve enrollment issues. Follow the steps below to successfully wipe the device and restart the enrollment process:

NOTE: An external keyboard will be needed to complete the reset procedure, and can be attached to an available USB port on the Chromebox device before beginning the process.
  1. Turn off the Dell Chromebox or Dell Chromebox for Meetings.
  2. Use a pushpin or paperclip to press the recovery button. The recovery button is located on the left side of the device, between the Kensington Lock and the SD/Multi Card slot:

Dell Chromebox for Meetings left view

  1. Press and release the power button on the device while holding the recovery button with your pushpin or paper clip. The recovery button can be released once video is displayed on the screen.
  2. Press Ctrl + D, then press the recovery button with the pushpin or paperclip again.
  3. The device will reboot and the screen will display a red exclamation mark.
  4. Press Ctrl + D. The Chromebox will reboot and start the transition to developer mode. This clears all local data. The deletion takes approximately 10 minutes.
  5. After this process is completed, press the spacebar at the bootup screen. Press ENTER to return to verified mode. The device will reboot and re-enter verified mode.

The process to wipe the Chromebox device is necessary in those instances when a specific Google user license for Chromebox for Meetings needs to be revoked, or Deprovisioned. After the license is revoked, the device must be moved to a Pending state, then wiped using the process above before re-enrolling an available license. For additional assistance with enrollment issues, please contact Google using the Support button in the admin console, or refer to the Google Chromebox for meetings Help Center Website.





Article ID: SLN293841

Last Date Modified: 09/19/2014 11:03 AM


Rate this article

Accurate
Useful
Easy to understand
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
Send us feedback
Comments cannot contain these special characters: <>()\
Sorry, our feedback system is currently down. Please try again later.

Thank you for your feedback.