How to save and back up your configuration on Dell PowerConnect, Force10, and N series switches via CLI

How to save and back up your configuration on Dell PowerConnect, Force10, and N series switches via CLI


Article Summary


This article explains the process, and importance, of saving your configuration and backing it up via CLI.


Table of Contents

  1. Save your configuration
  2. Back up your configuration to an external device
  3. How the switch uses it's configuration files
  4. Why and when to save and backup configurations

Also See: How to save and back up your configuration on Dell EMC N series switches via Web GUI


Save your configuration


To save your configuration, input the following command:

console#copy running-config startup-config

Note: On some older models, inputting copy run start instead of the full copy running-config startup-config will result in the switch creating a file named start, and not saving the configuration.


Back up your configuration to an external device


To back up your startup-config to an external device, input the following commands:

This example uses the IP address 192.168.0.1 for the TFTP server and filename backup.cfg

console#copy startup-config tftp://192.168.0.1/backup

Note: A TFTP server must be on the network, and the switch must be able to reach the TFTP server before you can back up your configuration.



How the switch uses its configuration files


All Dell switches covered by this guide have at least two configuration files. The startup-config and running-config. It is important to understand how these configurations are used and stored by the switch.

startup-config

  • Stored in NVRAM
  • Because it is stored in NVRAM the switch will keep the startup-config even if the switch reboots or loses power

running-config

  • Stored in RAM
  • Because it is stored in RAM, the switch clears this file when the switch reboots or loses power

When a switch powers on, it loads its startup-config file. From there it copies the startup-config file over a blank running-config file, since the running-config is lost after the switch loses power or reboots. From there, the switch runs and acts off its running-config. Any configuration changes on the switch is applied to the running-config, which is how most configuration changes take affect live without a reboot. Changes in the configuration are not written to the startup-config until you run the copy running-config startup-config command.


Why and when to save and backup configurations


Saving Configuration

Saving configuration is crucial. It ensures the switch retains its current configuration in the case of power failure or reboot. Risks that can cause a switch to reboot unplanned include power outages, physical security breach, unforeseen circumstances.

Backing up configuration

A backup should always be performed before any of the following.

· After configuring a new switch

· Before a firmware update

· Before changing a working configuration

· Before replacing a switch

· Before physically moving the switch

· Before changing the hardware on a switch (Modules, cabling, power supplies)

If a backup is performed at each of these steps, then if something unforeseen happens there is now a backup of the switch configuration. Instead of having to reconfigure the switch completely if the configuration is lost, you can now just upload the backup file to the switch.







Article ID: HOW10280

Last Date Modified: 09/14/2019 12:28 AM


Rate this article

Accurate
Useful
Easy to understand
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
Send us feedback
Comments cannot contain these special characters: <>()\
Sorry, our feedback system is currently down. Please try again later.

Thank you for your feedback.