Skip to main content
  • Place orders quickly and easily
  • View orders and track your shipping status
  • Create and access a list of your products
  • Manage your Dell EMC sites, products, and product-level contacts using Company Administration.

Dell PowerStore Configuring Volumes

Recycle Bin for volumes

PowerStore Manager includes a Recycle Bin allows you to recover intentionally or accidentally deleted volumes. No storage is reclaimed until the object is deleted permanently from the system.

You can set a system-wide retention period for deleted objects. After that period, the objects are permanently deleted. When deleting an object, you can either delete that object and have it placed in the Recycle Bin, or delete it permanently.

NOTE:The Recycle Bin works only for block storage. It does not support file-based volumes and vVols.

If you put a volume or volume group in the Recycle Bin as opposed to permanently deleting the object, those objects must meet the following conditions:

  • The volume has no protection policies that are associated with it.
  • The volume has no secure snapshots.
  • The volume has no mappings.
  • The volume is in a healthy state.
  • Fast metrics have been disabled, if applicable.

Retention period

The default retention period for deleted objects is 7 days. You can adjust the retention period manually.

Snapshots and clones

When you delete a volume, all associated local snapshots and clones are also deleted.

NOTE:If the volume has remote snapshots, deleting the volume does not affect those remote snapshots.

When you recover a volume, all associated local snapshots and clones are also recovered.


Rate this content

Accurate
Useful
Easy to understand
Was this article helpful?
0/3000 characters
  Please provide ratings (1-5 stars).
  Please provide ratings (1-5 stars).
  Please provide ratings (1-5 stars).
  Please select whether the article was helpful or not.
  Comments cannot contain these special characters: <>()\