
Dell Migrate User's Guide
Perform erase without migration
If you perform the erase process on your old PC without migrating your data, your photos, videos, documents, and other important files, these files are permanently lost. On your old PC, a warning is displayed with an option to migrate all your files before beginning the erase process.
Perform erase after canceling migration


- If you click
Erase This PC and migration is not completed, the following page is displayed on the old PC:
Figure 3. No migrations performed 
It is recommended that you click Perform Migration to ensure that all your personal files and settings are safely and securely migrated to your new PC. But you must click Proceed To Erase in case your data was backed up by some other means, and you are ready to reset your old PC to its factory state.
- If you select
Perform Migration, the following page with instructions to start migration is displayed on the old PC:
Figure 4. Searching for new PC 
Perform erase after closing Data Assistant post pairing

If you click Erase this PC, a message is displayed that migration is not performed. You can either choose to begin migration or go to the erase process.
It is recommended that you click Perform Migration to ensure that all your personal files and settings are safely and securely migrated to your new PC. But you must click Proceed To Erase in case your data was backed up by some other means, and you are ready to reset your old PC to its factory state.
Click Erase This PC when the application is ready to migrate
If this is the first migration process and you are in We're ready to start your migration page, and if you click Erase this PC, a message is displayed that migration is not performed.


If you click Perform Migration, the following message is displayed as Data Assistant has verified and paired with the new PC. Data Assistant continues from where you left: We're ready to start your migration.
For information about errors that you may encounter during migration and data erase, and the possible workaround, see Error codes.