When you attach one or more partitions, they are visible to the operating system and BIOS as USB mass storage devices. When you attach multiple partitions, based on the assigned index, they are listed in an ascending order in the operating system and the BIOS boot order menu.
If you detach a partition, it is not visible in the operating system and the BIOS boot order menu.
When you attach or detach a partition, the USB bus in the managed system is reset. This affects applications that are using vFlash and disconnects the iDRAC7 Virtual Media sessions.