Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

May 29th, 2015 13:00

Backup and Recovery causing applications using Qt5 DLLs to crash

I'm a software engineer at Tableau Software and we've discovered a bug in Dell's Backup and Recovery software that is causing any 64-bit application which uses the Qt5 core DLLs to crash whenever a Save or Open file dialogue is opened. We have been able to reproduce this behavior with an extremely simple application using just QT code:

#include
#include

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{

QApplication a(argc, argv);
QFileDialog::getSaveFileName();

return 0;

}

This app was built in Qt Creator with the standard Qt 5.4.1 SDK for 64-bit MSVC2013.

To work around this problem we are having to instruct our customers to completely remove the Backup and Recovery software from their workstation.
I have been unable to identify a good way to report this bug to Dell outside of this forum. Could someone point me in the right direction?

1 Message

December 13th, 2016 02:00

We had the same problem in our application and realized that only version 1.8.1.71 is concerned and it sometimes come pre-installed on some PCs.

Version 1.7.5.64 did not use Qt yet and in version 1.9.2.8, they removed the dependency in the shell overlay DLLs.

So upgrading DBaR is enough to workaround the issue.

1 Message

July 27th, 2015 17:00

Magix Movie Edit Pro 2015 video editor (64-bit) crashed on Save or Open dialogue, I had to uninstall Dell Backup and Recovery to resolve.

2 Posts

August 3rd, 2015 05:00

We are software developers too.  Our program has same issue on several new laptops.

Reported it to DELL today via  telephone to the pro-support team.

A search of the internet reveals other programs that have same problem.

http://forum.teamspeak.com/archive/index.php?t-102102.html

https://hometalk.chiefarchitect.com/index.php?/topic/992-cant-opensave-plans-in-2016/

https://forum.allegorithmic.com/index.php?topic=4825.0