Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 21st, 2022 10:00

VNX 5200 Replace Drives 0-3 with Larger Drives?

Is it possible to replace the first 4 drives in a VNX 5200?  They are 300GB and I would like to swap out for 1.2TB drives.  Actually, I plan to replace them for the entire enclosure. 

There are other DAE's attached for me to swing existing data to, but is that necessary or can I replace them  one-by-one if they are unbound?

Again though, I'm more concerned about how to handle the first four drives.  Is there a documented process for this?

Disclaimer, I am new to EMC storage and this system is being used for a development project.

Thank you!

• 

8.5K Posts

July 22nd, 2022 15:00

I am not sure it will migrate the system LUNs. It isn’t supported so it is at your own risk to try it.

• 

8.5K Posts

July 22nd, 2022 08:00

Hi,

Unfortunately, there is not a supported method for increasing the drive size.  

Let us know if you have any additional questions.

5 Posts

July 22nd, 2022 10:00

If one of the existing drives fails, can it be replaced with a larger drive?  If so, would there not be an opportunity to pre-fail the drives? 

On another note, can user data be stored on drives 0-3 or is it just reserved for the OE, etc?  If not, I may not be overly concerned with upgrading the capacity on the first four drives.

• 

8.5K Posts

July 22nd, 2022 10:00

Yes, if a drive fails it can be replaced with a larger drive but the extra space won’t be used.  The first 4 drives can have user data, only some of the drive is used by the system. How much will vary and also depend on the way the pool is configured. 

5 Posts

July 22nd, 2022 11:00

Thanks, I appreciate this info.  It helps me to understand my situation better.  Are 0-3 in their own dedicated pool/RAID group or can they be shared with the remainder of the drives in the main enclosure?