Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 28th, 2022 11:00

Area-51 R5, SSD upgrade options

Alienware Area-51 R4 and R5

Alienware Area-51 R4 and R5

My current config is 512GB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD (Boot) + 2TB 7200RPM SATA.

I need at least a 1TB SSD now. From what I understand, I can't add a second M.2 SSD drive because there is only one slot M.2 slot used by the existing SSD drive. So, if I replace my existing SSD I need to clone it to the new one. That doesn't sound like fun...

I also believe I can add a SATA 2.5 SSD to one of the existing, empty 2.5 slots that I have, using one of the available SATA drive connectors (#18 & #19 on the System-board components diagram). Do I need to worry about performance loss here? I am just now learning that there are multiple connectors for SSD drives (I'm a software engineer, I don't have to think hard about hardware lol).

There also appears to be M.2 -> PCIe adapters that I can use if I want to use up one of my PCIe slots instead? But I'm not sure, I'm starting to get lost with all of these options.

Which is the best upgrade path?

4 Operator

• 

2.1K Posts

September 28th, 2022 13:00

The SSDs you linked are the ones I put in my R5. I use the Crucial SATA SSDs for storage.

I have also used this M.2 PCIe adapter  in another Dell rig if you want to add a M.2 SSD in a PCIe slot. Depending on your usage regime, I am not sure how much difference the reads speeds make in everyday 'normal' applications.

4 Operator

• 

2.1K Posts

September 28th, 2022 11:00

I replaced my OEM M.2 SSD with a 2TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus. Cloning was easy with Macrium Reflect. I also added two - 2TB Crucial MX500 2.5" SSDs in the U.2 drive brackets.

M.2 PCIe adapter is also an option.

8 Posts

September 28th, 2022 12:00

Thanks, that's helpful! So, it seems that your Evo is taking advantage of the NVMe interface and hitting 3,500MB/s reads, while the Crucial maxes out at 560 MB/s.