Start a Conversation

Unsolved

A

5 Posts

April 28th, 2021 05:00

Aurora R12, Quadro RTX 4000 as a second GPU?

Hello everyone! 
I am an Engineering student and I need a "powerful" PC basically for CAD- 3D Modeling and Engineering Simulation. 

Workstations are quite expensive, so I like the configuration of Aurora R12 (with Intel i9-11900KF + Geforce RTX 3090). BUT I found out that many CAD softwares (Inventor, Solidworks etc.) suggest and support ONLY Nvidia Quadro GPUs instead of Geforce). So my question is:

With a 1000W power supply, can I add (don't even know if possible inside that compact case/chassis of the Alienware) a second GPU? for example RTX 3090 + Quadro RTX 4000 (or any Quadro)? or it may cause heat problems or any performance related issues? 

Another (bad, but it seems to be safer) solution would be to just substitute the RTX 3090 with Quadro P4000 (and put the 3090 back when I need it, for gaming maybe!). BUT can I mount/attach Quadro RTX 4000 without issues? is the R12 motherboard compatible with it? (even the form/dimension of the two cards are different: the Quadro RTX 4000 is tiny if compared to RTX 3090).

What do you think? Any suggestions?

Thank you!!

6 Professor

• 

6.4K Posts

April 28th, 2021 05:00

I don't know much about the Quadro RTX 4000 besides the tech specs: tech specs 

Due to the form factor of the R12, you will be hard pressed to put this is in a second card. It might fit, as it is a single slot card. However, it will be next to the RTX 3090 and influence the cooling of the RTX 3090. It might not fit because of the size factor of the motherboard.

Due to limited air flow in the R12 case, it might be a challenge.

You will have to check to make sure your power supply comes with the required spare power connector(s) for the second card.

A few other things to keep in mind:

- R12 is a gaming machine, not a workstation machine. It might not be a good solution to pair this card with a gaming machine.