Start a Conversation

Unsolved

L

5 Posts

January 24th, 2022 13:00

Aurora R7, display driver crashing, strange stuttering issues

I have a really obscure issue that's been plaguing my PC for well over a year now, and any attempts to troubleshoot it has gotten me nowhere. I've also searched the internet extensively and can never find my exact issue, so it's been hard to narrow down any remaining solutions.

So currently whenever I encounter any form of video playback for the first time after booting up my PC, my display will flash to a black screen and then recover. This gets recorded in Event Viewer as Event 4101, and states "Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered". I cannot reproduce this crash for the remainder of that session, but if I restart my PC, open Chrome and try to play any kind of video (this could be ads playing on a website, and I've even seen it when booting up Steam if the front page is animated or has some kind of VFX in any way), then it will happen again. After this happens, if I open NVIDIA Control Panel, Low Latency Mode will be set to "Custom" and will only allow me to select "Off" and "Ultra", when I previously had this set to "On" before the crash. I also get different settings to choose from under Power Management Mode that weren't there before the driver crashed, which is really odd. Strangely enough it also switches to another NVIDIA High Definition Audio device and the one I start with on boot of Windows gets disabled. It's being output to the same monitor, so I'm not sure what's going on here.