Start a Conversation

Unsolved

D

2 Posts

February 14th, 2021 06:00

Aurora R9, games won't play, upgrades?

Help total novice here

I bought my son the Aurora R9 for Christmas 2019. He has stopped using it and says it won't play the games he wants to play and it needs upgrading? But I don't know where to start? It's running on =

9th gen intel Core i5-9400 processor
8GB HyperX XMP ram 2666MHz
256GB SSD + 1TB Hard drive
Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660 Ti 6GB  

What do I need to upgrade to play the up to date shooter games?

Many thanks in advance,

Deb

9 Legend

• 

12.3K Posts

February 14th, 2021 06:00

The first question is which games is he trying to run? The CPU in that system should run most games fine. But if you want to increase performance then a CPU such as an i7-9700 (or i9 but you need much better cooling for that CPU), RAM increased up to 16GB (or 32 for future proofing), and a more powerful video card (this forum thread has some information). It comes down to how much you are willing to pay to increase performance. Upgrades are nice but can get very pricey.

You can also try this site and this one which will determine if you can run a certain game and what hardware components are lacking.

6 Professor

• 

5.3K Posts

February 14th, 2021 07:00

The R9 was sold with either air cooling (base) or liquid cooling (upgrade) with your CPU.  Your upgrade options for the CPU depend on which option you purchased. Your CPU is a midrange component like the 1660ti GPU.  It's probably not too much of a slowdown except with CPU intensive games. I wouldn't start there unless there were a specific problem.

6 Professor

• 

5.3K Posts

February 14th, 2021 07:00

Yeah, it would help to know the problems he is experiencing and the display he's using.  One option is to lower the graphics settings.  For example if you're playing 1440p or higher on a 32" monitor and ultra settings with the latest first person shooter games that might be too much for the GPU.