Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 29th, 2017 15:00

Alienware Aurora R6 --- I wanna install SSD in it and do the first boot with the SSD , is it possible ? Or i have to install everything on HDD then install my SSD.

Hi, im a beginner and i want some help on how i can install my Hyper X Savage 480GB that is sleeping on my desk for a while in my Aurora R6 and put all the basic stuff on it like my Operating system (windows 10) on first boot on my SSD.

2 Posts

March 29th, 2017 16:00

Yes 2,5 inch. So in a simple way :

1.I start the computer from company let it update and install everything 

2. When its opened i do a backup (image file) since pretty much only the operating system and basic apps will be installed .

3. I install the SSD .

4. Restore on the SSD . (How do i tell the computer to restore but on the SSD ?)

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

March 29th, 2017 16:00

Upgrade Alienware desktop with Windows-10 bootable C: from spinning HDD to faster SSD

- If this is a new computer, do the Windows First Time Setup.

- Backup important files to USB flash-drive and put somewhere safe

- Download your computers PDF Service-Manual. Read and prepare for project.

- Download and install Macrium Reflect Free.

- Create Macrium Bootable USB flash-drive. Test it by pressing F12 on boot.

Either do this:

- Clone your existing whole C: Drive spinning HardDiskDrive to the SSD.

- Shut-Down and connect only the SSD to SATA-Interface.

Or this instead: 

- Make an Image File (with Verify on) of spinning HDD C: Drive to a file on an external USB-HDD

-    -   It should include all the existing Partitions on the spinning C: Drive

- With only the SSD connected to the internal SATA-Interface for next steps ...

- Boot the Macrium USB flash-drive and restore the Image file from the USB-HDD to the SSD

Finally, you:

- Boot and use computer with your new fast SSD

- Shut-Down and reboot a couple of times and check operation.