Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 10th, 2013 16:00

Alienware m14x Seven Beeps (With a twist)

I bought my m14x laptop in the summer of 2011. I've since been having problems with the seven beeps issue, which I know is most likely motherboard related, but my issues seem to be a bit different than most, so hopefully there's a different/cheaper solution (as a college student, I don't exactly have money back up for a $500 motherboard + installment). Here's a quick timeline of what's been happening:

1. In fall of 2012, my brother accidentally spilled liquid onto the keyboard of my laptop. Shortly after this (maybe a couple weeks) I first started experiencing the 7 beeps. Like others, my laptop wouldn't boot at first, but by shutting it down, and restarting, it would eventually boot.

2. The 7 beeps started again around Christmas 2012, but only lasted a day.

3.  Most recently, the beeps have been happening for the past 3 days. Every time the computer sleeps, it goes into 7 beeps mode. It could be entirely unrelated, but it seems to boot most regularly when I unplug and plug the power cable back in. 

I have noticed that every time the computer decides to boot, I hear a noise coming from inside the laptop somewhere below the directional keys. Hopefully all of this is info to maybe diagnose anything. Thanks!

835 Posts

April 16th, 2013 11:00

Run the latest BIOS update, the following link will direct you to the download:

M14 r1 A08 BIOS

835 Posts

April 10th, 2013 17:00

Hi BootsElectric,

7 beeps indicate CPU failure: Alienware Beep Codes Table  

Open the bottom cover and locate the graphics card fan, clean it with compressed air to check if the noise is coming from there.

April 14th, 2013 00:00