Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 2nd, 2015 01:00

Alienware x51 r2 - blank screen

I bought my Alienware x51 r2 last October. I have had problems with it ever since.

While gaming, streaming a video, surfing the web, or even while simply booting, the screen would go black and the TV would display "No signal." I would then have to restart the computer. 

Dell replaced the video card. It worked for a month. Then the same thing started happening again.

Dell replaced the video card a second time. It worked for a month. And now the same thing is happening again.

I cannot watch a video on YouTube or Amazon for more than five minutes without the screen going black. This 1000 dollar computer is now useless.

The first card was an Nvidia 660; the second a 760, and the third another 760.

I am beyond frustrated. I am not a computer expert; that's why I chose not to build my own and bought a pre-built one instead. This was obviously a huge mistake on my part. If this problem persists you can bet I'll never purchase a Dell product again (and I'll spread the word to everyone I know, too).

June 2nd, 2015 23:00

Knock, knock, hello, anyone out there? I was hoping to at least get a response from the Alienware rep.

June 4th, 2015 21:00

bump...

And it's still happening. Just turned it on, decided to test it by loading Skyrim. After 1 minute of playing, it restarted, then midway through booting, the screen went black/blank. It's still like that. Clearly on but displaying nothing.

727 Posts

June 4th, 2015 21:00

Have you tried using the top HDMI port for a bit? It won't be meant for gaming, but if the display works through there, then I would think the problem is not the GPU.

727 Posts

June 4th, 2015 22:00

Have you requested a motherboard replacement? It could be that there's something wrong with the PCI-E slot.