Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 9th, 2011 20:00

Aurora Lockup

I was in the R3 thread, but my computer is not an R3 it is older, and has been intermitantly experiencing the same problems as the users of the newer R3's.  I have a high degree of confidence that it is video card related, as the chance of occurance increases greatly when the video card is being taxed.

Here are my specs:

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz 64bit/6 GB DDR3 PC3-10660 (1333 MHz) Freq: 1284 MHz /ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series 1024MB X2 Crossfired /Disk_Model: ST31000528AS /Disk_Size: 1000 GB /Optical: PLDS DVD+-RW DH-24AAS/Monitor: AW2310 Alienware Digital

Oh, and I've tried just about everything.  I know I can play certain games without it crashing, while other games will most certainly make it crash every time.  Also, early on, I thought perhaps it was because I had 2 monitors connected, as I have a Samsung SyncMaster 204B, but found  over time this was not the case, it happens with or without both of them connected.

My thories:

Powersupply of 650W is not enough to power the 2GB ATI 5700 Video Cards and the rest of the system properly.  Perhaps my cooling configuration causes power to shift to parts of the box that cause other parts to short in order to maximize efficiency or something.

Video Card is incompatible with certain games - so perhaps the problem could be the Actual Video Card itself.  I've updated video drivers 5-6 times over the last year, and noticed marked improvements in lowering the number of freeze occurances for a limited time period.

10 Posts

June 14th, 2011 03:00