Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

F

May 7th, 2017 15:00

M17x R3 6990m not detected

Hello. i have an issue that started playing, multiple blue screen.

i resetted my m17x r3 with home windows 7 that came with, but now the system does not detect my credit card radeon 6990m. only intel integrated. i have bios A12, and when i try to install from scratch the newest driver from AMD official site, on the process, the screen goes black and the computer is not responsive anymore. 

I'm not an expert but not noob. I have done so many things.

went to bios and change primary display com SG to PEG and then i just get beeps, i think 8. had to remove the battery on mother board and stuff to get it back.

reisntall windows again (now im in windows 10), and a lot of things. but is weird. i will show a picture of device manager so you can see how it shows the card.

also used DDU to have all drivers out and all, but really can't make it. it won[t work. i can't install drivers and card is not correctly detected.

this is the latest drivers i'm trying to install amd-catalyst-15.7.1-win10-64bit

really would like some help.

2 Attachments

May 8th, 2017 08:00

Thank you SO MUCH  for this tremendous insight. i will try that as soon as i get back home and let you know if this works, but as your evidence suggests, it might be totally accurate. i will let you guys know my results.

one question, after i install that driver, i should NOT update it anymore? just stay with that one as it is?

thanks again!

9 Legend

• 

47K Posts

Windows Update may hoze the drivers.   You may need to keep the old version forever as there WILL NOT be any new updated drivers for these series cards.