Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

H

September 22nd, 2016 18:00

Skylake PCIe lanes

Can somebody please explain how many PCIe lanes are available on the 17/15 (Echo) series, and how they are allocated?

What are the implications of installing a second NVMe M.2 (specifically, 960EVO :-) in the 17r3? Are there enough lanes to make this feasible, especially with other external ports in use (GA, DP/Thunderbolt)?

October 17th, 2016 15:00

Hi Hindesite,

I am sorry but my answer will not provide you an assurance of 100% (I am no expert in Alienware), but I can tell you what I think it should happen base on my knowledge and on comments identified in other forums.

First of all, the following comment should answer part of your question:

The alienware 15 R2, as well as the alienware 17 R3 which both have the same motherboards, have two m.2 slots.  One of the two slots supports both Pcie X4 and SATA III as the m.2 interface can support either sata or Pcie.

The second m.2 slot supports ONLY sata III and/or Pcie x2.  

To repeat, one of the slots supports 4 lanes of Pcie, the other supports only 2 lanes of Pcie.  Both slots support Sata III.

This means you can use the 850 EVO sata drive in either slot, or the 950 pro in either slot, however, in one slot the 950 pro will ONLY have 2 Pcie lanes available to it so it will not work at its top speed.  In the other slot it will have 4 Pcie lanes available to it and will work at its top performance.

Source

In regards of your second question:

Are there enough lanes to make this feasible, especially with other external ports in use (GA, DP/Thunderbolt)?

PCIe uses a point-to-point topology, so each lane expects one device on each end.