Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 30th, 2011 15:00

Upgrading Area 51 and have a few questions

After running into too many issues when replacing my original damaged Alienware MOBO, I have decided to just install the J560M board and I purchased a new i7 970 to go with it and hopefully the system should come together a bit more easily now.  My questions are:

1.  Once reinstalling this new MOBO, and doing a clean install of Windows, should I then go to the Dell support page and install all updates for the ALX or the regular Area 51 as the system is not originally an ALX, but I'm not sure if the regular version comes with the same board / CPU option?

2.  Should I then install Command Center Desktop or just the regular Command Center now that all hardware should be supported by Dell?

3.  With this new MOBO, can I still use the RipjawsX DDR3 RAM, or do I have to get something else?  I have no experience with tri-chan memory.

4.  Will the liquid cooling that came with the original PC still fit on this new MOBO?

5.  Is there anything else I need to know before installing everything or anything else to consider that I'm leaving out (besides eventually moving to an SSD)?

Thanks for all of your help guys, I appreciate it and I'm looking forward to using an actual Alienware rather than what I had thrown together...

Alienware Area-51 case
Alienware J560M (replaced the original Gigabyte mobo -damaged, then my ASRock z68 Extreme4)
i7 970 (replaced original Core 2 Quad and then replaced my i5 2500K)
G. Skill RipjawsX 4Gx2
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1000GB (1.TB) /32MB cache hard drive
POWER SUPPLY Alienware 1100Watt Multi-GPU Approved
ATI Radeon HD 5870
2x  Optical Lite-On 24X Dual-Layer Burner (DVD±RW)
Win7 home premium 64-bit

38 Posts

August 30th, 2011 16:00