Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 6th, 2012 09:00

What Graphics cards are compatible with my Aurora desktop?

Hello everyone, let me apologise if I am asking a question that has been answered before but I always prefer to get an answer to my particular question. Now my problem is I am totally unsure what graphics cards are compatible with my machine, I know that since Alienware make their machines so excellently by ensuring that everything meshes perfectly I am worried that any new hardware may damage the machine ( as you can see I am a novice at all this) I was wondering if it is possible for me to upgrade my NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 that came in the system to a new Nvidia Geforce GTX 460 and if so would it be fine with the system or would I run into problems adding a new component on my own ( though more likely getting an experience engineer to do it).

Thanks for any help you can give me

Conor Goulding (Ireland)

Community Manager

• 

54.9K Posts

March 6th, 2012 11:00

Do you know which Aurora you have (R1, R2) ? What wattage power supply? The R1/R2 came with either the 525w or 875w power supply. Both shipped with the GTX260 and both are validated with the Dell GR23P GeForce GTX460 P202N D12-U15 video card.

2.4K Posts

March 6th, 2012 11:00

You should be able to use it if your psu is strong enough. Could you post some of your system specs for us like the size of the PSU and what cpu you have? That would help us answer your question better.

March 6th, 2012 12:00

thanks for the speedy reply, now I think these are the details for the CPU but I am not sure where to find the PSU

CPU

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz, i don't know where to find the Power Supply Unit data though.

35 Posts

Might be a long shot, but do you have your paperwork that got shipped with your computer? or perhaps an old email with your computer spec sheet listed? Go into your email and search for Dell and see what comes up.