Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 7th, 2015 22:00

m17x R4 - GPU and FX Light Problem

G'day,

This is my first time posting on any forums like this, I have searched extensively for a solution to my problems but have had no success.

My Machine

• Alienware m17xR4.
  • Purchased mid 2013 refurbished.
  • It came with windows 8, but I removed it and installed Windows 7 (Windows 8 drivers were hard to get working)
  • Unfortunately recovery partitions were removed when Windows 7 was installed.

My Problems:

• Poor GPU performance
  • No keyboard lights

When it Started:

Roughly six months ago I left my computer on in summer running a reasonably GPU heavy game. I had left the house and came back about three hours later to find my laptop and my housemates laptop off. We suspected that there was a power surge at the house. If that wasn't the case, then there was a high chance the laptop overheated.

When I turned my laptop back on the keyboard lights were off. The screen was in a low resolution, and the AMD 7970 catalyst drivers were no longer working. I tried to reinstall them, but it would say that the GPU could not be found.

One thing I have noticed, is my fan (not sure which one) used to run really fast when playing games. Ever since this happened they rarely run fast at all.

Personal Troubleshooting:

• To resolve both issues
    • ePSA Diagnostic - All results passed
    • Support Assist Diagnostic - All results passed
    • Opened it up, took out GPU and cleaned out all dust
    • Bios downgrade to A05 (using USB in mSata and hold end button)
    • Install custom unlocked bios (A11)
    • Bios currently back to A09
  • To resolve GPU
    • Reformat of Windows 7
      • This enabled a re-installation of the 7970 catalyst drivers with the GPU being detected. Unfortunately performance in games is ridiculously laggy and fans no longer run fast.
  • To resolve keyboard lights