Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 30th, 2012 10:00

Avamar Install Issue -- Network Configuration (Was: Re: Ask the Expert: Avamar Server management best practices)

Hi Ian, nice to meet you.

My name is Victor Santos, and I am new in this Avamar World.

I am installing a new Avamar Backup Solution with 7 nodes (1 utility, 1 spare and 5(3.9TB each onde) storage nodes.

Let's see if you can help me.

I configured all nodes each onde with a different IP adress (Eth1 and Eth3), configured switch A and B, installed avamar bootstrap and now I am stucked in Avamar Installation Manager, where it ask me for enter de number of storage nodes.

I filled all the fileds of all tabs with correct information, but at tab "NetWork Config", I got de following error message:

ERROR: No data node found.

So, I can`t complete the installation.

Print Screen.

Thanks for the help.avamar error.jpg

2K Posts

July 30th, 2012 11:00

I moved this question from the best practices thread since it's not really a best practices question.

Did you follow the hardware and software installation procedures in the Avamar Procedure Generator? I reviewed the procedures and could not find any references to manually setting the IP addresses of eth1 and eth3. These NICs are for Avamar's internal network connectivity and should be cabled to the Avamar communications modules and configured as a bond on network 192.168.255.0/24 unless that IP range is already in use out on the customer network somewhere.

I would recommend opening a service request at S2 and stating that you are an implementer on-site performing an Avamar implementation. This will ensure that your SR is routed to the Implementation Support Team who are best qualified to assist.

August 2nd, 2012 10:00

Hey Ian, it's me again.