Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 17th, 2013 13:00

Can I change my dataset to create an aggregate backup?

I am new to Avamar and I have been recently charged with taking on a large enterprise implementation. I have a server that has has 8 1TB drives. 2 of them are full and 2 other are starting to fill up. There are around 16 million files. Avamar cannot complete a full backup of the system in our backup window and it fails with a time out error. Since a large number of the files never change I assume that after I have a full backup that Avamar will only backup the new changes and it will be able to complete within the window.

So my question is this...can I set the dataset to backup drives 1-4 today then set it to backup 5-8 tomorrow and then set it to backup everything after that? My theory is that after 2 days I would have a full backup of all 8 drives and then I will only be backing up the changes after that.

I may be over thinking this or completely off but I am trying to avoid running a full backup through the blackout period because we have TONS of other stuff backing up and I need the maintenance to run its course. I am also trying to avoid creating multiple groups and datasets for one client.

Anyway I would appreciate any help you could provide me on this so that I can get this client a full backup and then continue to backup the changes from here on out.

2K Posts

June 17th, 2013 14:00

Normally the Avamar client only permits one workorder at a time to run on a client but there are ways to work around this if necessary. This is really the "nuclear" option for performance troubleshooting, though and it involves a certain amount of management overhead so I would recommend getting in touch with support to evaluation the situation first. They can take a look at the system, run some performance tests, give you appropriate recommendations, and help you with the configuration if you run into problems.