Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 5th, 2012 07:00

Deduplication ratio on Avamar

Hello,

I am fairly new to Avamar backup technology. I started at this new client who has Avamar 5.0 deployed but DOESNOT do image level backup. So I am trying to make a report explaining why it is better to do so for which I need the present dedup ratio.

So is there a way to get a report from Avamar which gives the dedup ratio. If not, is there a way to calculate the same?

Any information is appreciated.

Thanks,

Sri

2K Posts

March 20th, 2012 13:00

The de-dupe ratio is calculated as the total amount of data protected vs. the total amount of data stored.

If you have a DPN Summary report that covers all the backups back to the install time of the system, you can calculate the dedup ratio by summing the TotalBytes column, summing the ModSent column and then dividing the TotalBytes sum by the ModSent sum.

On my test system, I came out with a de-dupe ratio of roughly 70:1.

173 Posts

March 5th, 2012 07:00

Compare Totalbytes colum to modsend culum, it will give you dedupe ratio.

Regards

Lukas

223 Posts

March 14th, 2012 04:00

Hi Lucky85,

is this information available for the whole avamar system?

In the reports I only can see these entries for each single client.

Of course I can export this and calculate the ration by myself, but it would be easier to see it in the reports in one step.

173 Posts

March 14th, 2012 05:00

No as far as I know, you have to calculate it, use dpn summary report from the beginning and import it to excel…

Regards

Luksa

115 Posts

March 20th, 2012 12:00

Hi Lucky85,

Thanks for your reply.

I calculated the dedup ratio using the columns you said and I am seeing a number between 500 to 1000 for filecluster servers. Now I understand that the number will be high but numbers upwards of 500???

Does this look right? or Am I doing something wrong?

2K Posts

March 20th, 2012 13:00