Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 9th, 2013 08:00

AX4-5SC - Windows doesn't see it.

I have a AX4-5SC Storage System running Navishpere Express with FLARE 02.23.050.5.711.  I already have the virtual disks ready to go. On the server side I'm running Windows Server 2008 R2 w/sp1 and 2 QLogic HBA cards, directly connected to the storage unit.  I had originally installed the Navisphere Host Agent 6.29.06.0.3 on this server.  This allowed the AX4-5SC to see the server and it is added to the list of servers and connections on the storage unit.  Then using the storage units web interface (Navishpere Express) I assigned the virtual disks I created to the server.  Now this is where the problem comes in.  I'm new to Fiber, and so maybe I'm missing something.

Back on the server I go to "Disk Managment" and no new disks are showing up.  I can even do a force scan of the disks and nothing shows up.  I went ahead and uninstalled the Host Agent and installed the Navishere Server Utility, but this utility, when I run a scan, does not find the AX4-5SC Storage Unit.  And of course "Disk Managment" still doesn't show any of the disks that were assigned to this server through the web interface of the storage unit.  If I go back to the Storage unit, it still shows the server and still shows that I have virtual disks assigned to it.  I just can't get them to add in Windows.

Any Ideas?  I'm hoping that since I'm so new at this, that I'm missing a step.

4.5K Posts

January 9th, 2013 08:00

In Navisphere Express check in the Connections section and make sure that you see the HBA's from the host Status is active. You should see connections to SPA-0 and SPA-1 as Active.In the Virtual Disks section check that each Disk is assigned to the host - the column "Assigned To".

Last, reboot the host and see if that helps.

glen

January 9th, 2013 09:00