Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 4th, 2013 12:00

CX-4 Delete a host

I am new to the CX-4 and VNX 5300 please bare with me.

Short question:  When I right click on a host in Unisphere that is on a CX-4 the "remove" option is greyed out.  How do I delete the host?

Longer explanation:

We have retired two hosts that were part of the same storage group and shared the same LUNs.  I deleted the storage group and LUNs.

The servers are disconnected from the switch, the zones are deleted from the fabrics.

The connection status on both is Inactive, the status is unmanaged, the host agent is unreachable, the user capacity is 0... the Storage group is ~ management.  ...what you would expect...I would think.

I encountered this issue once before on the VNX side and went into Host-Initiators and cleaned that up and the hosts disappeared but for the CX-4 the Host-Initiators don't show anything...for any host.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

1.4K Posts

Ghost hosts are hosts that were disconnected from a CLARiiON array that the array still sees as being registered.

See if you can follow below steps:

- Open Unisphere

- From the left hand panel, click Storage System Connectivity Status

- Select the host to remove, highlight each HBA one by one and click the Deregiter button

- Click OK

Note: You might want to log in to Engineering Mode before following above steps by pressing Ctrl + Shift + F12.

If it doesn't work out follow the document to Restart the Management Server on both the Storage Processor https://community.emc.com/docs/DOC-7393 and let us know if it helps!

Ankit

1.4K Posts

I think you have installed Unisphere Off Array Manager not the Unisphere, there is a difference.

Unisphere Manager opens up when you type in IP Address of CLARiiON SP on the Browser.