Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 7th, 2010 10:00

CX300 - how to change storage processor IP/subnet/gateway/name

Hi,

I would like to move Clariion CX-300 to another subnet.

Do I need to "destroy security and domain information" from SP /setup page ? If so, what needs to be done to after that to reinitialize the system ?

OR

Can I simply change  IP, subnet, gateway & name  from SP /setup ?

Please provide the steps if possible..I am new to CLARiiON and haven't done this before.

1.5K Posts

April 7th, 2010 12:00

You can change the Storage processor IP, netmask, gateway, name from the setup page - but if you are connecting to the SP from a machine in the network - you 'll loose connectivity once you change the IP address and netmask.

You can modify your machine configuration to match with the new IP network and connect directly to the SP or use the serial connection to setup a PPP connection.

You can download the CLARiiON procedure generator for customers from Powerlink which may provide you some more details.

Regarding the domain security - you need not to destroy the security if you have only one Array in the domain and this CX300 is the domain master. However, if you want to reconfigure the domain or create a new storage domain you can destroy the domain security - it will delete all management user accounts. But there will be no impact on the actual data stored on disks - this will destroy only management information.

After you destroy the security - next time when you connect to the SP, it will prompt you to initialize the security - choose yes and create the new user names with their roles and passwords. You need to choose the domain master in the storage domain as well.

Hope this helps,

Sandip

1 Rookie

• 

5.7K Posts

April 8th, 2010 01:00

http:spa/setup

Destroy security

Change ip# of SPA

The SPA will reboot

http:spb/setup

Change ip# + peer ip# of SPB

The SPB will reboot

http:spa/setup again