Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 8th, 2013 21:00

EMC CX-4, SAN setup questions (beginner - newbie)

Hi,

BACKGROUND

I am new to SAN's but have been in I.T. for 24 years (BSCS, CCNA, MCP, etc) and recently purchased a used EMC array that included two DAE's with 15 drives each. In one of the DAE's I added CX-4 Storage processors, and the other one I added basic storage processors. I am running a windows 2008 R2 server with 1 QLogic QLA2460 HBA, and 1 Emulex lp9002 HBA. These cards show working normal device manager. I downloaded apps to be able to see/control each HBA (specifically QConvergeConsole ("QCC") for the QLogic card, as well as OneInstall for the Emulex -it came with the driver download...it's just a very basic management console. The setup currently is the win08 server is connected from the QLogic fiber HBA to a Broocade 3850 fiber switch in port 1, and port 2 connects to the "A-side" storage processor fiber port on the primary array.

HELP REQUESTED:

Basically what I am curious about is the primary processes to get started in setting up this SAN. What software would I use, What do I need to do to get the HBA's to see the Storage processors (...do I need to do that, shouldn't software find it on it's own...?)

1. I know I need to get the brocade switch setup with a zone. It's currently setup with default zone 1, however I think I may need to set it back to factory default just to clear any special configurations (advice?).

2. I believe I need to get some kind of GUI to see the SAN...~I've tried unsuccessfully to use the tools that came with the HBA's to even see anything. I know these use WWN's, so I'm not sure what to do to set those up. The QCC software is web-GUI driven but request the IP of the server....I don't know whay, I thoiught it'd do a query on the Fiber card and just see the SAN, at least that's what youtube videos show it doing.