Start a Conversation

Unsolved

S

2 Posts

November 23rd, 2019 13:00

Reset CX4-240 Password with Limited Options

Hi,

I am new to SAN's in general especially EMC's VNX and Clariion however to cut a long story short.. i have a CX4-240 TRPE with 2 DAE's (One of which contains the first 5 disks containing the O/S)

I have tried to login to Unisphere using several default login credentials such as sysadmin/sysadmin, nasadmin/nasadmin, clariion/clariion! and others. but i'm unable to login due to invalid credentials.

However, I am able to login to the RemoteAnywhere through the browser using clariion/clariion! and have access to the windows server 2003 desktop through remove anywhere so i am hoping there is a way i can add a new user or reset the password so i can then login to the Unisphere gui through a browser.

I would greatly appreciate any help or advice, i do have physical access and the serial cable with DB9 and i know you can reset by creating a modem connection and going to 192.168.1.1 but i couldn't get that to work and thought it might be easier through RemoteAnywhere

Thanks

• 

6.9K Posts

November 25th, 2019 10:00

Hello SanNewbie,

Here are the steps with using the serial cable and it should allow you to reset the password on the CLARiiON and VNX array. You'll need to connect a PC to the Service Port COM1 on the SP - there is one port on each SP Management Module. Use a null modem cable.

For a video demonstration, refer the attachments section.

You need to create a PPP connection. The following steps are for Windows 7:

Create the COM port modem.

1. Click Start -> Control Panel -> Phone and Modem.
  2. Click Modem Tab and click add.
  3. On the Install new Modem Pane, select the "Don't detect my modem" box, then click Next.

There will be a pause while the models load.

1. Select Communications cable between two computers, and then click Next.
  2. Select your COM port, click Next, and you are done.

Set up the PPP connection.