Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 28th, 2010 13:00

Thin LUN "Consumed Capacity" shows unaccurate info

Hi,

I'm pretty new in the EMC world. We just bougth a couple of CX4-480. We are using Flare 29 basicaly to take advantage of the Thin Provisioning feature, which looks really nice, but encountered a couple of issues.

One of them, is that if I release data on the server side (Windows 2003), Navishpere will not decrease "Consumed Capacity".

I was able to probe it doing the following:

1)       On the Windows server, copied 10 GB to a new 50 GB Thin LUN.  Results: Consumed space 12 GB since 2 is overhead.

2)        Deleted 9 GB. Consumed space still  12 GB.

3)        Copied 4 GB. Consumed space still 12  GB.

4)        Copied another 4. Consumed space 13  GB.

5)        Copied another 8. Consumed space 17  GB.

Is anybody having the same issue?

I'd like to be in contact with people who has some experience with This Provisioning on CX4.

Thanks,

Pablo

2.2K Posts

April 29th, 2010 10:00

Pablo,

It is not an issue with the CLARiiON array, as the operating system has initialized and written to the blocks that caused the size of the consumed space to increase. Deleting the data from those blocks on the server just marks those blocks as free on the file system but does not release those blocks from the array. NTFS is not shrinking the blocks that it has initialized and written to so the array will not see that the consumed space is reduced at all. Rember that a block array is not file system aware, so once the space is initialized it will not shrink.

1 Rookie

• 

5.7K Posts

April 29th, 2010 01:00