Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 20th, 2010 11:00

Upgrading CX3-10 to CX4-240 without losing data

Hello,

We are planning to upgrade CX3-10 to CX 4-240 without losing any data. Is there any procedure to do that. Thanks

Bonnu

111 Posts

May 20th, 2010 12:00

Yes, it is possible to do a Data-in-place (DIP) array upgrade/conversion from a CX3-10 to a CX4-240 as long as you do not have ATA drives in the Vault (first five drives) location. If you have ATAs in the Vault then you can only upgrade to a CX4-120.

When you purchase the DIP conversion kit to go to a CX4-240 there will be an upgrade service charge in your purchase that includes either EMC or an ASN partner doing the upgrade work. The DIP does require some overall downtime, but will keep all of your data.

258 Posts

Hello,

I have the OS disk on FC and the rest of the DAE are SATA drives. 

258 Posts

Hello,

I am pretty new to this DIP technology. We are planning to buy CX4-240 controller, If you can help me with rough idea on the price with DIP feature and without DIP it would be really great help. Thanks

Bonnu

111 Posts

May 20th, 2010 13:00

Physical re-racking for DAEs is outside the scope of the DIP service that comes with the DIP kit purchase. Also out of scope is any LUN migration, swapping of vault drives or host remediation. If re-racking needs to be done it will need to be discussed with the account team and customer service or professional services. EMC or an ASN partner can perform any of these tasks for the customer, however they will probably be billable since they are outside of the DIP conversion fixed service offering that comes with the DIP kit purchase. The account team can provide quotes for additional services desired.

2.2K Posts

Bonnu,