Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 13th, 2010 08:00

NX4 NDMP backup with symantec 12.5

hi there

i'm new to the celerra area, i usually work on clariions. Anyway i need to setup a backup on an nx4 using symantec backup exec 12.5 and i was just wondering has anyone any tips or pointers in setting this up or has anyone a similar configuration ?

thanks

paul

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

May 14th, 2010 14:00

Your best starting point would be the Configuring NDMP Backups Guide.  Appendix page 107 covers Symantex specifically.  This Guide is available on PowerLink.  It has not been updated for 12.5, but is the general setup.  If you have access to KnowledgeBase Solutions, emc67829 guides you through some of the troubleshooting questions.

Configuring NDMP Backups on Celerra

P/N 300-004-181

Rev A01

Version 5.6

March 2008

13 Posts

May 15th, 2010 01:00

thanks for the reply but the customer does not want to use NDMP because you cannot restore at the file level, i was thinking of maybe doing 2 snapshots a day of the volume and using symantec backup to backup the snapshot. What is confusing me is there are conflicting doc/posts on whether symantec backup can access the data via the unc name \\celerra\data. Have you tried to backup data via this route or even a mapped drive letter ?

thanks again

paul

8.6K Posts

May 17th, 2010 08:00

Hi Paul,

what do you mean ?

with NDMP you can restore single files or directories just fine.

as far as network-based backup go - it should work with a UNC path or mapped drive letter

just make sure the backup runs as domain account and NOT a local account

also keep in mind that mapped drives usually only get mapped once a user logs in

Rainer

13 Posts

May 17th, 2010 09:00

Hi Rainer

thanks for your help, there are some confusing information out on the web :-) would you mind clarifing some things for me ?