Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 29th, 2015 09:00

Compellent free space reclamation

Hi guys, I'm installing a new storage Dell Compellent SCv2020 with vSphere 5.5 U3b for an existing customer

I have deep knowledge of Dell PowerVault storages but I'm new with Dell Compellent. I've read that making snapshots for backups or running Storage vMotion can affect free space on the storage due to native LUN thin provisioning: communities.vmware.com/.../436628;tstart=0

The suggestion is to manually run or schedule the command "esxcli storage vmfs unmap -l MyDatastore" that invokes the SCSI UNMAP primitive

I've tested a Storage vMotion and indeed the space on the source LUN remain allocated until manually "unmapped". I've not yet tested how backup snapshots affect the free space on the storage because I've not yet migrated any VM on the new infrastructure (by the way I will use Veeam Backup v8 that heavily rely on VMware snapshots)

Anyone here can share ideas and feedback? Many thanks guys

Marco

26 Posts

December 30th, 2015 09:00

You are spot on, use the unmap tool to reclaim space on the LUN. Compellent thin provisions everything on the back end and depending on your environment, you should probably be thin provisioning your LUNs on the VMware end. Over time as you delete servers in VMware and vmotion from datastore to datastore that space will not be reclaimed on Compellent b/c the storage is ignorant of the fact the data is no longer being used. The 'fix' for this until there is complete integration between VMware and Dell is to run that unmap tool.