Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

November 28th, 2008 09:00

How to check port is working

One of the ports in our cisco 9506 is showing Linkfaillossofsignal. This is connected to host hba. How do I check the port on the cisco to make sure it is working fine.

I am new to cisco. Thanks in advance.

141 Posts

November 28th, 2017 06:00

Hi there,

In our effort s to clean up the forum, we came across your question / statement.

If the question / statement is still valid, not expired and you need an update please reach out again and we try to get it answered.

As for now we set it to “answered.”

Regards,

Jim

108 Posts

December 1st, 2008 12:00

Hi,

First, turned it down from device manager and turn-up after 10 sec.
second, take it off from old port and try it plugging into new port and see if that wroks.
third, try using new cable(sometime cables go faulty).

:-)

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

December 1st, 2008 14:00

You could plug a loop back into the port and run this command: "system health external-loopback interface fc x/x"

December 4th, 2008 09:00

Hello,

I'd recommend going with what Amol stated. I'd also add that I would move the connection to another port on another module if possible to ensure that the module itself isn't having issues.

Please also keep in mind that there are some other things to keep in mind:

1) the port must be enabled for it to work
2) if it is a port that has ports on demand like a 9124, you need to have a license for the port to work
3) you also have bandwidth constraints on ports that can cause a port to not work if the other ports are taking all the available bandwidth
4) ports can be auto disabled if the switch finds a problem with the connection going over them