Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 10th, 2013 21:00

Laptop, HDD replaced, Account locked, USA

I have been using Dell products in my home for the past 15 or 20 years. I have found them to be great - until I purchased the latest laptop for my wife (in December of 2012). Long story short - the service was good in that they did everything they could to try and fix it - even had a service person come to the house - but they couldn't resolve the issue (random disconnect from wireless network).

So - I had to back up everything, and send it into the Dell Service Depot. It was gone for 10 days ... and when it came back - the documentation said that they had replaced the wireless card and the AC adapter.

So I booted the computer up (Windows 8) and it showed only an Administrator account (which was different than when we sent it in). I clicked on the Administrator account icon - and it says "This account has been disabled." I was very confused - as I couldn't get into the computer.

I phoned customer support ... and waited for an hour to get through. While I'm waiting ... I tried Shift-Restart ... and was able to eventually get in to account management and enabled the Administrator account. However, when it booted up - there were only 4 tiles on the Start window. I went to the Desktop - and the 4 shortcut icons there were "Ship It", "System Analysis", "File management", and "Internet Explorer". While I was looking at these icons, the laptop started running a whole bunch of batch files ... performing system analysis. DOS windows opened up on the screen, and an analysis application started and ran.

I was perplexed - to say the least.