Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

September 30th, 2013 17:00

Dell CX300

Hello Team,

I am new to this storage,my task is to provide a storage solution for the backups we run.

we are presently having Dell CX300 with 10 slots empty.

Could someone help me in understanding this device,

1)Can we occupy those empty slots and use as B2D disk folders for backup jobs.

2)Is it SAN storage? 

Manuals on SAN ,how to configure it ,hardware configuration docs will help me a lot.

Thanks in advance .

685 Posts

September 30th, 2013 19:00

The CX300 is one of the entry level Dell/EMC RAID Storage System with Fibre Channel host interfaces, Fibre Channel disk drives, and capable of operating as direct attach storage (DAS) or in a Storage Area Network (SAN). Simplicity and low cost are key attributes of the CX300.

In order to be able to access all of the documents that you are looking for and will need you will need to gain access to PowerLink. In the link below you will see an option that will take you to an online form where you can request access to that site where you will be able to download all of the resources you need.

ftp.dell.com/.../dellemc-cx200_Concept%20Guide_en-us.pdf

Please let me know if you have any further questions or concerns.

9.3K Posts

September 30th, 2013 21:00

You'll need a fiber channel adapter (a network card with optical ports will not work).

EMC devices will not accept any non-EMC drives. The CX300 enclosure itself will only accept fiber channel drives (certain disk enclosures that you could daisy chain off of the CX300 will support SATA or possibly even ATA drives (still all EMC certified/labelled drives)).

5 Posts

October 1st, 2013 06:00

Hello Kenny,

My scenario :

I am using Symantec Backup Exec software to take backups.

we would like to have scalable storage solution .Now we have

Dell EMC CX 300 Series Storage Array  

HP MSL2024 1 LTO-4 Ultrium 1760 SAS Tape Library    10x1.6TB