Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

W

July 11th, 2007 07:00

Raid configuration recovery

Hi all.
I have very little experience with raid in general, and have been presented with 3 fully populated 660F units. The data stored on these devices is critical, and the origional owner of these devices is not available to help with the configuration.
So far, I have configured a PC with a Qlogic 2200 card, and have attached the 660F units through a fiber switch. From within Windows 2000, I can see all 42 disk drives - indicating to me that so far everything might work.
I have loaded the Dell array manager software, but it won't see the array for some reason. Having done a bit more research, I wonder if I need to load the Dell storage consolidation software? Reading between the lines, the guide seems to imply that the storage software would have previously held the raid configuration (I know all these volumes were configured as one raid 5 volume), and is therefore lost.
My question is, can anyone provide me with some guidance as to how to re-establish the raid configuration given the lack of available details and missing config?
This is an important legal issue, and it would be a great loss if the volumes cannot be recovered. Any help would be well received. My natural environment is with Unix, and am struggling to work this thru under Windows - Thanks in advance

4 Operator

• 

1.8K Posts

July 11th, 2007 13:00