Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 9th, 2009 10:00

navisphere / cx300 raid group management

I've inherited a cx300 array to manage recently and I'm a little new to it and navisphere so I've got some questions.  I was about to purchase more drives to add some space but I've noticed 3 different RAID groups where there is quite a lot of 'free capacity', unallocated into LUN's.  I've also found a large LUN that is not mapped to a host...  Is there any reason someone would do this??  At the time of purchase that must have been thousands of dollars worth of RAID 10 space that has been unallocated for years.

So my questions are... is there a LUN set aside for CX300 software perhaps, or some reason for not allocating space, besides not needing the space? 

If I can use that unallocated space can I expand a drive in windows without having to remove and replace the contents?  (I suppose I'd have that question if I were purchasing new hd's as well)

Thanks!

9.3K Posts

June 11th, 2009 08:00

Assuming your OS supported extending partitions (e.g. Windows 2000 and later, Linux, but not Netware or ESX 3.x), to grow a LUN, there are 2 options; MetaLUN expansion, or a LUN migration.

Here is a short description of your options and some of the pros and cons of each.

MetaLUNs add a 2nd LUN to the existing LUN so that the OS thinks it's 1 'larger' LUN.

Advantages:

- can be done quick (once the 2nd LUN has finished binding) if using the concatenation option

- very flexible (when using the concatenation option, the 2nd LUN can be a different raid type, different size, in a different raid group (but cannot be a different disk type (FC vs SATA))

- can also be used for performance (striping option, but for this best practices is: different raid group with the same number of drives, the same raid type, the same drive type, same spindle speed and the same LUN size)

Disadvantages: